Connect with us

The Championships at the Royal Randwick Racecourse



The Championships is part of the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is held on the first two consecutive Saturdays in April at the Royal Randwick Racecourse. 

DAY 1 

Doncaster Mile

As the first race of the Championships series, the Doncaster Mile has a total prize purse of $3,000,000AUD and runs a distance of 1600 meters. It is an open handicap race that was inaugurated in 1866 and won by Dundee. Cascadian most recently won in 2021, which was his first Group 1 win.

TJ Smith Stakes

The TJ Smith Stakes, previously known as the Endeavour Stakes, was first run in 1997 as a listed race but was raised to Group 1 grade in 2005 and now has a total prize purse of $2,500,000AUD. The distance of the race is 1200 meters and was last won by Nature Strip, who also won in 2020. The name of the race was changed in 1999 to honor thoroughbred trainer Thomas John (T.J.) Smith.

Australian Derby

The Australian Derby is a 2400 meter race for three-year-old thoroughbreds and has a total prize purse of $2,000,000AUD. It was most recently won by Explosive Jack. Kyogle was the first thoroughbred to win in 1861 when it was known as the Randwick Derby Stakes.

Sires Produce Stakes

This is run over a distance of 1400 meters and has a total prize purse of $1,000,000AUD. The ATC Sires Produce Stakes was first to run in 1867 and won by champion Glencoe who went on to win the Melbourne Cup the following year. The latest winner was Anamoe in 2021, who also won the Caulfield Guineas that year.


Queen Elizabeth Stakes

With a total prize purse of $4,000,000AUD, the ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes is the third richest weight-for-age race in Australia. First known as The Queens Plate, the race was inaugurated in 1851 with Cossack winning, who also won the following year. The most recent winner of the race is Addeybb, who also won twice in 2020 and 2021.

The Sydney Cup

First known as the Jockey Handicap when it was inaugurated in 1862, the Sydney Cup is a stayer race with a distance of 3200 meters, making it the longest race of the series. It currently has a total prize purse of $2,000,000AUD. The first racehorse to win this event was Talleyrand, while the latest horse to win was Selino in 2021. 

The Australian Oaks

First run in 1885 as the AJC Oaks at a distance of 1 mile and won by Uralla, this popular race now has a distance of 2400 meters and a total prize purse of $1,000,000AUD. It is recommended to do some research on what horses will be racing here and see what they raced previously to increase your Australian Oaks betting chances of winning. Hungry Heart won the most recent race in 2021, having won her previous two races at The Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in Brisbane, so keep races like that in mind. 

Queen of The Turf

The Queen of the Turf Stakes, now raced as the Coolmore Legacy Stakes, is a 1600 meter distance weight-for-age for fillies and mares. It has a total prize purse of $1,000,000AUD and was last won by Nettoyer in 2021, who also won the Doncaster Mile the week before. The event itself was first to run in 1972 and was won by Refulgence.

All of these races used to be separate events in their own right, but it was decided to put them together under the newly formed ATC Championships series in 2016.

Continue Reading